Making productivity: to-do tasks

I have to admit that last post was a bit boring, I’ve been running several new habits that my time management is a bit confused (time management should be another topic that we will go through). Last post shown how to define and setup goals. But, Goal setting =/= Goal achieving !

There are certainly tons of things we need to do afterward, an action plan is necessary to create that providing the whole picture of the goal achievement. It should contains the tasks, expected completion date, resources required, and target.

Here I’m trying to use myself as an example. Let’s see how I work on for that…

long-term goals: Self study in Philosophy (following open coursework online)

The major part here is the term “self study”.  Similar to Scott’s action goal, Brian Johnson, recommended blogger, from PhilosophersNotes, saying that we are too attached into the outcome when setting goal. We should focus on the process and intention rather that the outcome, that is actually the by-product of our resolution (we can simply let it take care itself.) Thus goal achieving is not our primary focus but the consistency of how we manage to do it. [details could be referred to his PhilosophersNotes TV Episode #19: How I’m Setting My Intention & Goals for 2010 (a bit outdated, but doesn’t matter, truth is always true!)]

On another episode, he talked about a book “The Now Habit” at  his PhilosophersNotes TV Episode #92. It is the book talked about procrastination (lets keeps into our topic list)  but also brought up some ideas on why we need to break down:

long-term goals  –> short-term goals –> to-do tasks

When we want to be productive, we need to put ourselves above the comfort zone into the stress zone but below panic zone.

Comfort zone                    | Stress zone  | Panic zone
easy to be procrastinated | productive!  | too much, not long lasting

What we need to do is keeping check up on progress (may be using log diary), to transfer:

useless tasks (from comfort zone)  –> not urgent but important tasks (at stress zone)

In additions, we can change our mindset from victim (procrastinator) to producer (productive person), such as:

  1. “I have to do….”  –> “I choose to do….” : life is always with choices, we are not pushed to doing but we actively decide to do it.
  2. “I must finish….”  –> “When can I start to….” : (I love this one) this is interesting, we turn the situation up-side-down. We are not forced to finish but we urge to start, making everything productive and highly motivated!

I would set myself a timeline that the course should be complete at Jun2013 (Note that I don’t have any Arts subject background, this is absolutely a big challenge for me!)

In order to be successful, the below short-term plan should have been prepared, and finally the action plan could be completed by fitting in the schedule and milestones.

Daily to-do tasks including:

  1. Writing daily (blogging here)
  2. Grammar revision & exercise*
  3. English readings (I will share some tips)
  4. Memorizing 3 vocabularies (with flash cards)
  5. Go through Learn More, Study Less**
  6. Self-study on Philosophy [study pending until item 3 & 5]***
  7. Develop Weekly/Daily goals (review and prepare next weekly to-do list at every weekend)
* milestone 1: I have several grammar exercise books, I have to complete at least one with covering all units (sometime it might needed to precise more on another exercise books for clear concept)
**milestone 2: There are lots of materials that Scott provided, I’m planned to revise on all materials 2 times at least (depends on my degree of implementation)
***milestone 3: This is actually my major goal, I will further select and decide which course material to be followed.

Someday to-do tasks: (this is the concept from GTD, some non-urgency tasks you know you should be done but also can be waited. I will complete it someday when I’m available, just like a wish list.)

  1. Creative writing – short stories, poems
  2. Reading poem
  3. Listening English podcast
  4. Develop vocabulary note book
  5. Joining passion enhancement course (online, similar as LMSL)
  6. Joining personal development online courses
  7. Complete “English Vocabulary in Use”
  8. Taking notes on leisure readings
  9. Develop ideas book (record all my ideas that comes up suddenly, it could be writing topics, research topics, pictures that I like to draw…)

Above is my draft on self study, it would be reviewed time by time.

My coming posts will details on each topics with my progress.

Leave a Reply

