Review – Online Courses on Self Development

For these few years, I addicted into reading blogs about self development. I got to know many popular blogs and bloggers, admire how they did and try implementing their advises into life…Sometimes I made success but failure more often. T.T

You probably noticed there are numbers of online courses, as I did, how would you consider to buy the course? During these years, I interested in several online courses and ebooks. Here, I would like to share how I felt and what I found out from the courses:

Learn More Study Less, by Scott Young

Discover Your Passion, by Barrie Davenport

Bold Living Guides, by Barrie Davenport

The 52-Week Life Passion Project, by Barrie Davenport

Sea Change Program, by Leo Babauta

Learn More Study Less, by Scott Young

This is the first online course I have bought. Scott provides an amazing job on study skills, he is a brilliant and  finished a 4-year MIT curriculum for computer science within 12-months (you might review it at his MIT Challenge). The MIT Challenge is the one that I admired so much, but obviously I cannot finish a MIT course on my own, as he did. But when I realized his Learn More Study Less (LMSL), an online video course that provide many learning techniques, not only on studying but you can apply it in you lifelong learning, including:

  • Speed and Active Reading
  • Killer Productivity System
  • Metaphors
  • Verbalization
  • Study for an Exam
  • Image Association for Vocabulary
  • Holistic Self-Education
  • Goal setting
  • Flow-Based Notetaking
  • Which Tactics Should You Use?
  • Your Three Month Action Plan
  • Building Learning Habits
  • Diagramming
  • Killing Procrastination
  • Jargon Reduction
  • Chaining Method
  • Remembering Terminology
  • Deep Linking
  • Creating a Deliberate Practice Schedule
  • Project-Based Learning…

These are some major topics only, you would found a lot in the course, the materials are ebooks, Ass-Kicking Emails and videos. And it provides a forum for you to communication with other subscribers (and Scott as well, of course). If you have difficulties on learning anything, just post your question and get your answer.

After considering the cost, which is not costly (USD67), I purchased the course Jan-2012, and I haven’t applied to apply all the tactics up to now (there are so much!!!)

I’ve never regret for taking LMSL **Highly recommended**, I learnt speed reading for my leisure reading from Scott and it helps much on building my passion on studying.

It is just so much to share, I would like to share his tactics on the coming post. If you have once tried LMSL, please feel free to share with me. ^-^

Discover Your Passion and Bold Living Guides, by Barrie Davenport

Barrie is a very passionate personal coach who once replying me a long email for helping me finding passion. She is very nice and helpful.

Discovery Your Passion (DYP) focusing on finding passion, it involves 7 modules and some worksheets in step-by-step approach.

If you purchase the Passion Power Pack as I did, you would receive 10 more ebooks and 2 podcast as well. There are just huge of information that I cannot finish reading all them.

The design of DYP is particular details that helps to figure out the passion by thinking about my life. But I felt a bit difficulty in working through it. You need to be very clear otherwise you would probably have the same filling as me if English is not you first language.

Bold Living Guides (BLG) is a collection of articles, about personal development, from Barrie. It is a ebook in total 476 pages. This is a nice ebook, but you would not able to apply all the advises because it is only a collection of articles, without strategic approach on linking and applying them.

The 52-Week Life Passion Project, by Barrie Davenport

This is a ebook and e-workbook from another website of Barrie, (they have printed version as well). It is pretty nice that it divided into weekly approach, you are supposed to follow a little tactic for every week, for example:

  • Childhood Joy 
  • Your Beliefs About Passion
  • Resistance and Fear
  • Restoring Emotional Equilibrium
  • Understanding Your Personality
  • The Power of Creativity
  • Your Core Values
  • Personal Relationships
  • Simplifying
  • Time to Focus
  • A Work in Progress
  • Living with Passion…

The content is useful and easy to follow and you could get it more easier for going through the workbook (answering the questions)

Comparing with DYP and BLG, I would recommend the 52-Week Life Passion Project, since it is more easy to understand and follow.

Sea Change Program, by Leo Babauta

Leo is an amazing blogger, running a very successful blog ZenHabits. I am personally a fan of him. His blog post provides useful information that helps enhance my life.

Once I found out the Sea Change Program, it is a series of simple plan that focus on a habit monthly:

  1. Stop procrastinating 
  2. Eat healthier
  3. Meditate
  4. Exercise
  5. Write daily
  6. Simplify you day
  7. Get organized
  8. Declutter
  9. Be grateful
  10. Reduce/eliminate debt
  11. Read more
  12. Let go

Actually I’m not interested in all these habit, but I still subscribe it due to the reasonable price: a monthly subscription (USD10/month).

The program provides a forum that you could share with other subscribers. They are very helpful and you could ask for any difficulties (not only about the program but anything about your life).

These are the review of the online courses (or ebooks) that I purchased. In the coming post, I will share which online courses that I interested but didn’t purchase. 

If you have join any online courses (or ebooks), please come and share your comments. 

2 thoughts on “Review – Online Courses on Self Development

Leave a Reply

